The Editing Goes On (On Writing and Editing)

Image

Source:  http://therefinedinvestor.com/2013/10/sisyphus-part-i/

So I am about sixty percent done with this round of editing. I speculate that I am going to have to do at least two more “Final Edits”, or read throughs. These should be much easier than this current edit. This current editing round has been all about cutting words, and smoothing out the language and major plot points. The next round is going to be “Big Picture”, reader impression type stuff, making sure all the loose ends are wrapped up. So I’ll be focused on more abstract issues like, does the story flow, are all the chapters necessary, can we cut anymore, what is the overall effect of the novel? I will also try to focus in on themes and philosophy issues, am I consistent, is it interesting, do I get where I want to go? Am I leaving anything out? 

This is also a series book (I know everyone does a series these days). So I am also going to be thinking about the set-up for future books. Have I laid the ground work for future books? Have I cut myself off from any possibilities in future books? Do i even NEED future books!?

The editing process is helping me grow as a writer. I have multiple stories that need to be edited. It’s an exciting prospect to have all that unrefined material, but it is also daunting, because in all honesty, editing isn’t my favorite thing. But maybe it could be?! And in reality it has to be! Writing and Editing are like the Yin-Yang of authoring. Writing seems more natural, feminine, unconscious and uncontrolled. Editing is more controlled, systematic, conscious, masculine and orderly.

Image

 

Source: http://licomomo.deviantart.com/art/Yin-Yang-357806069

So now I start asking, what’s next? Again, all I really want to do is go back to writing the stories; that is the fun stuff. But I also want to get this book out there in the world, so it can be read and enjoyed, so that means I have to start learning about another process, self-publishing. Honestly, after the daunting editing process, I’m not even afraid of the self-publishing process (I am a foolish man though). I’ll do another post here soon about why I am going to self-publish and not go through the traditional publishing journey. That said, if you got any great books or articles about self-publishing let me know! Or if you’re a bad ass editor who wants to come help, holler at the dude!?

7 thoughts on “The Editing Goes On (On Writing and Editing)

      1. You’re welcome….I’m coming to the end of my self publishing journey…only 25 days to go!! I completely understand how hard it is…so keep up the good work!

      2. Cool stuff, great to hear from people on a similar journey. It definitely is a lot of work, but it is also the funnest thing I have ever done. I’m excited to go check your blog out. Good luck with the next 25 days!

  1. I can’t help but edit as I go along. The thought of leaving it until later is just way too daunting to me. 😀

    By the way, I agree with you about self-publishing. That’s what I’ve done after about 30 years trying to do it the old-fashioned way. When you look into the publishing world, you find that the industry is NOT what it used to be. Manuscripts are chosen not on their own merit anymore, but often on the strength of the FIRST sentence in the COVER LETTER.

    Agencies and publishers are more comfortable with writers that are just like other writers. No one is willing to take a chance anymore and no one – except readers, of course – want anything “outside the box”.

    On top of that, you have books put onto the shelves only to be whipped off within a month or two to “speed the process along”, but all that does is make it worse for everybody, the writers, the book shops, the publishing houses, and the readers – there’s no time left for word of mouth. With very rare exception, new authors don’t stand a chance.

    After learning all that, I jumped in and self-published (2 books, now, with a third underway). It takes time for word of mouth to work and for sales to lift into anything meaningful, but at least it stays on the shelf!

    I’m with Amazon and Kindle, I write science fiction.

    Good luck with your project(s). I think you’re going the right way and will save yourself a lot of heartache.

    Cheers to you, mate. 🙂

    1. Two comments one day! I don’t know if I can handle much more. Just kidding, I love the comments! Thank you so much for your response, and I can’t wait to come check out your work. Oh and for the record I definitely started editing right away, but it was more reading a section here and there and making small changes. I have only really been editing for about 2-3 months now, trying to get it ready to share. Your experience definitely affirms my desire to self-publish. I want it out there. It also seems to me that in the proliferation of writers and books we have today, that it is better to get your material out there and keep working, instead of waiting around for someone else to believe in your project. It’s definitely a little more pressure, because you got to be writer, editor, formatter, and publisher, but I would rather know I am getting somewhere, then waiting around for someone else to tell me what to do. Anyway, thanks again and I wish you luck in your own work.

      1. Thank you. It sounds like we think alike! 🙂 Yes, I spend a great many years rewriting in order to please some stranger behind some desk – only, of course, I never got the same stranger!

        All the rewriting worked in my favour – it proved to be my training, so all was not lost.

        Cheers! 😀

Leave a Reply

