Let It Rest (On Writing and Editing)

Image

 

So I’ve locked my manuscript up in the basement, under lock and key, chained up in a folder. More like sitting on my desktop and cloudthingy, but psychologically and methodically,  I am growing this thing in my dark and murky unconscious. It’s a shared space down there. There two other books, only one of which I ever intend to release. They are accompanied by 10-15 “short” stories and fragments, which I believe may one day clean up right enough to surface, but who really knows. There’s also unknown number of non-fiction ramblings and essays, from college, and also a few chunks of half-realized poetry. 

You must let things rest. There are a number of things which require a resting period, like dough, good conversation, seasons, the sun, human beings, bears, seeds, love, my dogs (often). But while those things rest, I keep churning out my attempts at fiction, that ultimately will join the rest, floating below the surface. Until the day I brave the light, and display my pretties for the world to see! 

I put up a new 2.5 words on a new, short story, brining the total over 5k. It’s still not finished, and I’m not sure how to finish it, and that was basically my limit on the story. I feel the story is overflowing and refuses to be shoved into 5k words, at the same time, I don’t know if I can commit to a whole other book right now…but I am enjoying the new story, a lot actually, and in reality connects to some of my other stories, but I just want a dense short story, to just wet these savage’s appetites, get the hook in ya know? Ah anyways…that’s what I’m thinking about right now…does size matter? Chime in folks!

 

Image

OR 

Image

Leave a Reply

