All Hail the Pump Pad! (On Writing and Editing)

So I wrote last time about priming the pump, the idea that when editing a writer should still “prime the pump”, by pounding out a thousand or so new words before jumping into any editing. With the business of Summer afoot, the writing side of of my life is sort of being neglected, but finally today I got after it. Thinking about the big picture of my story though, especially after like a week or more of not really working at it, had me feeling confused and overwhelmed. But then I remembered the pump pad.

Coincidentally, I had also have also been experiencing a little bit of domestic discourse with my Wife and so I was feeling bit litigious, and so that prompted  me to turn to the climax scene of my book, which is a sort of mock trial event. Then bam, an hour later, the thousand words are out, and we have ended up with a couple juicy tidbits which might actually make the final draft. 

The pump pad is awesome. I really like writing new stuff, that main is the reason I do it. And if that’s all it is, just me banging on the keyboard, making stuff up, having a little fun, that’ll be enough. But the thing is sometimes I also dream about other people enjoying what I have written. And something like hopeless stirs in my heart. It’s futile, a dark mind says. No one will ever read your story. And there’s truth in that dark voice right now, because readers could never happen until we have a finished product, and can’t have finished project without the massive edit, but don’t like to edit? Despair. Solution? The pump pad!

Honestly, if you’re like me, stupid, lazy, and careless, the pump pad is for you! Some people say anything worth doing is worth doing right. My motto is anything worth doing is worth doing twice! So get out there and just rewrite the same scene a hundred times, sooner or later one of those will have to not suck, right? 

There’s this philosophical thought experiment called the infinite monkey theorem. The idea is how long would it take a infinitely supplied room of monkeys banging on a typewriter, for them to write Shakespeare. Now the point of thought experiment is about the results of infinity and randomness. It wants to indicate that if there is an infinite amount time and randomness, then there is an infinite amount of possibilities. And this provides me some strange hope, that maybe one day if I just keep banging away on this keyboard, out might pop a master piece! 

Image

Source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infinite_monkey_theorem

Leave a Reply

