Going With the Flow (On Writing & Editing)

Image

So this is gonna be another post extolling the virtue of the pump pad. I finally found myself back in my office with some time to focus on my writing. I have a busy weekend ahead, starting with a wedding today. I was feeling a little confused about how to start. Editing wise I am right to the chunky middle part, where things sort of jump off and get weird, and so with love and tradition in the air, it just didn’t feel right going all dark and crazy. So instead I decided to go with the flow and turn to the pump pad. I decided to write a random scene with my lead and her love interest. And again the pump pad came through. 

As usual I’m not sure if the thousand I put up will ever make the final draft, but what it does is help fill out are the details of my characters. They come alive by writing these scenes. And it’s interesting too because having the basic story in mind, I can sort of imagine the affect this is going to have on a reader, when they final get to the ending. It’s like I can actually feel the layers being added; it’s a very cool sensation. 

It made me think of other Arts which are obviously more mechanical, like painting or playing and instrument. And somehow getting that perfect line you want in a figure is analogous to finding that perfect feel for a character, when that success is achieved only then does the figure begin to jump off the page. That’s what’s loved in something like the Mona Lisa, or The Old Man in the Sea, the ability of the artist to create a real world out of artificial techniques. The more we focus on these real, tangible methods of our the art the better we will become. Art is not about being inspired and sort of vomiting out a finished project, but it is the slow march forward that wins the day. 

Image

Going with the mood of the day, dictated by agenda, was a success as well. I reflected on why people feel the need to marry, why I myself have desperately needed monogamy and companionship. The scene I wrote brought out all kinds of ideas. It is because we need to communicate, and be understood, recognized in our personhood, by another. It is because we are on an adventure, and it is perilous and having a dedicated companion gives you strength. It is because the world is confusing, and getting simpatico with someone makes it less confusing. It’s because we don’t have all the answers, and we are obsessed with that mystery of the other, and we know if we can just understand one other person fully, than maybe we have moved forward. It’s is because we are pack animals, whose skin was built to give and receive pleasure, and sometimes it can be so cold and then a warm body next to you can mean survival. 

This is what I think is meant by write what you know. You need to work with the emotions and experiences that interest you. And though you can be writing some crazy distant world, it needs to come from your own heart and mind; there is no other way. 

Leave a Reply

