New Segment! For Writers! Is this a sentence?!

So I have this interesting idea for a regular post. Each time I put up a new batch of words on a first draft, I am going to try and find a goofy looking sentence, or couple of sentences and then ask you brilliant reader/writer, IS THIS A SENTENCE? More than that, I would love to see how you would rewrite the sentence to make it a sentence. Do it. In the comments. It’ll be fun, maybe?

The inaugural sentence,from my work in progress, “Confession of the Werewolf”, which may or may not ever see the light of day, tell me, is this a sentence?

The cut felt deep and sent me into a rage I cannot describe, and as I came to attack him again I hit him with a number of blows and scraps, and I began to realize I was losing it, the wolf was going to kill this man, and I was going to lose the Chateau.

6 thoughts on “New Segment! For Writers! Is this a sentence?!

  1. It’s two or three sentences, actually. 😉

    My two cents, while still maintaining the long flow of words:
    The cut felt deep and sent me into a rage I cannot describe, and as I attacked him again, I realized the wolf was going to kill this man, and I was going to lose the Chateau.

  2. This is such a good idea you’ve come up with. I am now a loyal follower.
    OK … Some folk like to write short punchy sentences. Some folks don’t. The cut felt deep and sent me into a rage. That could be your first sentence. Personally I think you use ‘and’ too much. Try reading it out loud to someone and ask them to slap you every time you say ‘and’. Then you’ll see what I mean.
    I love the idea of your story and it makes me want to see more.
    All the best. Kris.

    1. Thanks for the “and” tip Kris. I’m sure my Wife will have fun practicing that one 🙂 Glad to have you on board. I haven’t had much of a response to that segment, so your words are much appreciated. I should have a new one today too, as I am blessed that today is a writing day. Anyway, thanks again, I’ll have to get over to your blog soon and check out what you are up to as well.

Leave a Reply

