Snippets 93

The Three Musketeers-Alexander Dumas 

“To ask me if I want money.”

“That’s true. How much do you want?”

“All you have in gold.”

“I have five hundred pistoles, or thereabouts.”

“I have as much. With a thousand pistoles one may face everything. Empty your pockets.” 

“There.” 

“Right. And you go–” 

“In an hour–time to eat a morsel, during which I shall send for a post horse.” 

“Capital! Adieu, Chevalier” 

“Adieu, Countess.” 

“Commend me to the cardinal.”

“Commend me to Satan.” 

Milady and Rochefort exchanged a smile and separated. (1137) 

Leave a Reply

